Skip navigation

Why is it everytime I am in front of Limewire I can’t remember the songs that I want to download? There are probably gazillion of music out there but I don’t need all of them, I only need some. Yeah sure, Bittorrent can be helpful to download a full music album, but like most, I only like few cuts from them.

I’m a real music lover. I can’t live a day in the office without hearing any sounds from my iTunes of my PC or through the FM station in eRadioportal. My favorite music varies, I don’t stick to one music genre. I’m very diverse and tend to like anything, mainstream pop, alternative, rock, RnB, ballad, electronica and more. But I’ll go for a kill if I hear any songs from April Boy, Victor Wood and even songs written by Lito Camo. Crap them all!

To me you’re like a growing addiction that I can’t deny, yeah
Won’t you tell me is that healthy, baby.
But did you know,
That when it snows,
My eyes become large and the light that you shine can be seen.
Lyrics from Kiss from a Rose by Seal

Believe it or not I still like ballads and RnB’s. Well, it’s time to time basis, I still hate mushiness. I can’t bear listening to local gay balladeers like the two Bautistas, Erik Santos and as well with those female belters. They give me creeps. I just listen to soft music when I want to, I can’t pollute myself with mushy and love thoughts. You’ll know it if my posts here will be those silly love poems and mushy ala Joe D’Mango stories.

The original fire has died and gone,
but the riot inside moves on (x2)
Lyrics from Original Fire by Audioslave

Whoever said that Cueshé, Shamrock, Moffatts, Hanson, Michael Learns to Rock are rock bands deserves to be in death row. I love rock music, Foo Fighters, Audioslave, REM, Nirvana, Offspring, Rage Against the Machine, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Incubus, our very own Wolfgang, Lokomotiv and the likes. They are great for those rebellious-mad-with-the-world moments. It blasts off the stresses… and the eardrums as well.

And I just can’t look its killing me
And taking control
Jealousy, turning saints into the sea
Swimming through sick lullabies
Choking on your alibis
But it’s just the price I pay
Destiny is calling me
Open up my eager eyes
‘Cause I’m Mr Brightside
Lyrics from Mr. Brightside by The Killers

There are too many Rock sub-genre today. I like punk and garage the most. Well, as for those emo, not much. I’m getting nauseous over those emo-punkass music. The jet black hairs with bangs, black eyeliners, and black overalls; I’m just tired of them. I don’t hate them though, but I just found all their lyrics mean the same, teenage angst, doomed love affairs and so forth. Anyway, I’m after their song, I just don’t want to visualize how they look like singing it. I might get hooked and be wearing black under the bright hot sun.

Tudududut tudududududut tudududududut…
Push me
And then just touch me
Do I can’t get my satisfaction
Tudududut tudududududut tudududududut…
Lyrics from Satisfaction by Benny Benassi

There are times I like to groove my butt out of my seat too. I like electronica music when unwinding, dancing wildly and strutting along the streets. I can feel the beat in my feet while walking. Just don’t turn on the volume high, because it drives me nuts. I don’t dance well either and it will be disgusting to see me grinding in public places.

Moon River, wider than a mile,
I’m crossing you in style some day.
Oh, dream maker, you heart breaker,
wherever you’re going I’m going your way.
Lyrics from Moon River

Every Sunday, my parents are tuning to a FM station — which I hate most — and listen to the classics. It plays swing, boogies or anything from the music of the 50’s to 70’s. I’m fond of some songs of Frank Sinatra too and some artists from that age. I find the lyrics and music, not just nostalgic, but also sweet and melodic. I like the music of the 80’s too, the new waves. Just don’t make me remind the fashion of the 80’s, it is really ridiculous. But don’t get this wrong, I am born in the 80’s but my mind grow in the 90’s, ok?

Kapag nagdidilim
Nagiintay parin ako
Kahit na sa panaginip lang
Nanabik parin ang puso ko
Lyrics from Panaginip Lang by Paramita

Of course, who will not love their very own music. The OPM. Pinoy Rock bands are booming everywhere. What I just don’t like with some, if not most, of the OPM bands are the posers. Their overall look plus shitty songs are what makes most of them. Cueshé, Shamrock, Spongecola, 6 Cycle Mind are just a few of these crappy bands. Luckily, they are just a few of them. There are still bands out there who retain their own music style and prefer to be humble. Well, we just hope popularity will not possess these humble bands.

My moods affect the music I like. And that’s great, having a diverse favorite genre takes me a hard time looking for a good song that I can download with my Limewire. Just don’t let me sing my favorite songs. I’m not just bad with lyrics, but also I can create catastrophe belting a stanza.

4 Comments

  1. Me, I write the songs that I want to download in my Superman notebook because I have a horrible memory. That way I wouldn’t stare blankly in front of the monitor for a longish time.

    I’m more into the classic songs right now. You know, hits from the early 80’s to the late 90’s. WRock has them. Thanks to LSFM’s untimely change of format, I’ve realized that I’m really getting older and older – some people say that when you begin to appreciate the oldies, so to speak, that triggers your evolutionary process.

    Oh no.

  2. Mike,
    You’re getting old all right! LOL. You can tune in to DWRT for newer sounds… or pursue being a DJ, you’ll get tired of music.

  3. haha hate OPMs? lolx.
    napadaan 😀
    im not music lover. but then life s boring w/o music.

  4. I haven’t actually tuned in to Hit FM (the former 99.5 RT) but I think they’re also more into pop songs right now. I’ll try.


Leave a Reply

