Skip navigation

It is not easy to make a statement. Whether it’s in fashion, politics, showbiz, advertisements or even a simple remark that comes out of our mouth. There are people who already made a statement in fashion namely Tessa Prieta-Valdez, her male alter-ego Tim Yap and of course, Kuya Germs in his ridiculous outfits and neckties. In politics, there’s this returning candidate known us “The Dancing Queen” and another one who want’s to be itanim sa senado. Curse these politicians! Then, in showbiz and advertisements they are easy to remember because of their catchphrases that leave a mark on the loser’s forehead.

How about us who are not known in the society, can’t we make a statement? Of course we can, we are actually doing it unnoticed. It may be just a simple phrase we say that someone around us easily remembers. Simple comments and reactions that are striking enough to stumble and disrupt a goliath of thoughts. Delivery and timing is a must to make taglines unforgettable. How do I know these? I may not be famous at all, but I was known by many by creating memorable remarks from my very own loquacious mouth.

Flashback. I was a self-centered selfish child back then. There was a leche flan I left by the dining table untouched. I had been gone for a couple of minutes and when I returned to eat my beloved leche flan, there was a portion eaten. I looked for the culprit and found my cousin upstairs, I blamed him for eating a part of that luscious dessert. He was denying so I started crying then and while the household was hearing me shouting:

“Aminin mo na kasi Kuya!!! Aminin mo na!”

Moving forward, it was the very first day of our first year in college. All else were new to our faces, everyone was adjusting in a new environment and still reminiscing the blast moments in highschool. When our professor in our very first class arrived, he wanted us to introduce ourselves. “What the hell is he thinking? Are we in grade school?”, I thought. Students stood up one by one and each made crappy — others were annoying — introductions. Since I sat at the last row, I stood up a little later than most. It was my turn then, I was cocky with my blue shades still on my eyes, I stated saying my name and made this memorable tagline:

“…and I’m still available!”

It was Sunday, it must be a day for relaxation or for watching crappy noontime shows. For us, who did not reached the age of CWS or NSTP, we had to take ROTC every Sunday morning. Sun was burning hot only our dark green fatigues guarded us from those harmful UV rays — fortunately, we were always in shaded area of the school. Hair was necessary to maintain short all the time because if not, a bad cut above the sideburns would be the punishment. We were sitting in our formation listening to our battalion officer’s hoax stories and lectures. There were also high-ranking officers roaming around observing everyone’s haircut. Those high-ranked officers came near our battalion, he threw a piece of litter near my seat. It was not really intended for me but for the one beside me whose hair was obviously longer than mine. Being kind, I picked up the litter and gave it to the officer because my seatmate was ignoring it. The officer grabbed my wrist, he was going to cut my hair. Since I knew their motives — because it was darn obvious, I threw his hand away. He and all else in our battalion saw my refusal, it was scandalous. There was a bickering and my final statement:

“Okay. Fine! Lagi naman kayong ganyan eh!” then I walked out of the formation and of the school.

Moving further, it was in my first job. I was quite irritated and mood swings attacked me at that moment. I was pestered and annoyed by the constant teasing of an officemate while I was busy fixing something on somebody’s computer. Irritation leveled up causing my brain heated so I bursted audibly saying crisply:

“Shut up, Bitch!”

Those were just simple words that became remarkable. I was known by families, friends and colleagues by simple phrases marking territories inside their heads. Sometimes, it feels shameful to be reminded of those disgraceful moments. But what the heck anyway, at least I make a statement.

My lesson? Real life dramas need great scripts!

5 Comments

  1. Real life dramas need great scripts!

    I couldn’t agree more! Lol. I was laughing with the ROTC statement. I couldn’t imagine that one. You actually humiliated your officers. Bumagsak ka ba?

    And with that officemate, I’m sure you made quite an impression.

  2. Yna,
    Yap, pasado ako, kaya nga working na ako ngayon.

    I always make an impression palagi.

  3. Nakwento mo na yan nung SEB e! LOL

  4. Ang rude mo. Dapat lagi kang mabait. Nakakasama ka ng damdamin. lolololol.

  5. Benj,
    Mabait naman ako parati eh… or minsan lang yata.


Leave a Reply

